Shri N.K. Singh

President, IEG

Mr. N.K. Singh is a prominent Indian economist, academician, and policymaker. He is currently Chairman of the 15th Finance Commission, a body established under the Indian Constitution to oversee revenue sharing and other federal fiscal policy matters. Prior to this position, he presided as Chairman of the Fiscal Responsibility and Budget Management Review Committee (FRBM), responsible for setting targets for the government to reduce fiscal deficits. He also served as a member of the Upper House of the Parliament, the Rajya Sabha, from 2008 to 2014, during which time he contributed to several prominent Parliamentary Standing Committees including the Public Accounts Committee, the Committee on Foreign Affairs, and the Committee on Human Resource Development.

Read More

Professor Ramesh Chand

Chairman, IEG

Prof. Ramesh Chand is currently Member, NITI Aayog, in the rank and status of a Union Minister of State. He has a PhD in agricultural economics from the Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences and the Indian Society of Agricultural Economics. He has been involved in policy formulation for the agriculture sector for the past two and a half decades. Prior to joining NITI Aayog, he was Director, National Institute of Agricultural Economics and Policy Research, New Delhi.

Read More

Professor Chetan Ghate

Director, IEG

Chetan Ghate has been working as the Director of the Institute of Economic Growth (IEG). He did his Ph.D in Economics from Claremont Graduate University, California in 1999. He was a member of the Reserve Bank of India’s first Monetary Policy Committee, between 2016-2020, member of the Advisory Committee of the National Accounts System (ACNAS) in the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation and he is currently an external affiliate of the Centre for Research in Macroeconomics and Macro-Finance at Swansea University (Wales, UK).

Read More